Peterborough and District Labour Council

Standing up for Working People
In our workplaces and our community

Labour Day Speedbox Derby

By Dean Shewring

Each year, from 1963 to 1976, the PDLC organized and conducted the first Canadian speedbox ("soapbox") derby each Labour Day on Armour Hill in Peterborough. As the years went on, the council added a Junior 'A' trophy and a Novice trophy to the annual Senior 'A' competition. Unfortunately, a proliferation of professional touring competitors from outside the area made it difficult for local people to compete and the final derby was held in Peterborough in 1976.

Bernie Daynes of the Canadian Soap Box Racing Association held a display of speedbox designs at Portage Place during a weekend in the Spring of 2004. Bernie is shown here with the original PDLC Speedbox Derby trophies. He was promoting the 2004 NDR Regional Championships CanAm Stick Nationals held July 10 & 11 in Peterborough.

Junior "A" Speedbox Competition
(1st Place)

Donated by
International Association of Machinists, Lodge 872
Karen Burns - 1971
David Storey - 1972
David Storey - 1973
Peter Wood - 1974
Jim Storey - 1975
Danny Hodgson - 1976

Senior "A" Speedbox Derby
Bert Austin Jewellers Trophy

Roy O'Brien - 1963
David Gray - 1964
Neil Trip - 1965
Carmen Andreoli - 1966
Clark Pick - 1967
Narlan Burns - 1968
Donnie Wood - 1969
Steve O'Brien - 1970
Scott Daynes - 1971
Karen Burns - 1972
Karen Burns - 1973
Karen Burns - 1974
Randy Windrew - 1975
Don Dilworth - 1976

The Dick Martin Memorial Award
for Novice Speedbox Winner

Michelle Storey - 1974
Andrew Gilchrist - 1975